To the visitor this charming small and fortified town is suggestive of a medieval film set. It has been carefully preserved and its inhabitants take careful pride in maintaining the architectural image of days gone by.
Impressive 18th Century blue tiles line the walls within the southern gate that is appropriately known as Porta da Vila and acts as the main entrance. Besides its historic importance, the Igreja de Santa Maria is also the resting-place of the Count of Dijon, D. João de Noronha and his wife D. Isabel de Sousa whose tombs were finely sculpted c. 1525 by Nicolau Chanterenne.
On the opposite side of the square to the church is a Manueline pillory adorned with a fishing net that symbolizes the efforts of the local fishermen who unfortunately failed to save the Queen’s son from drowning.
The ancient town walls have been restored over the centuries and the castle itself has been carefully turned into a charming Pousada.
The town was also the permanent home of a competent lady painter of the 17th Century.
Josefa de Óbidos as she is commonly known was born in Seville but her Portuguese father who was also a painter brought her back to Óbidos at the age of six where she was to remain for the rest of her life.